top of page


The Victorian Grand Prix Midget Racing Association in conjunction with The Goulburn Valley Auto Club will conduct the 8th running of the Ironbark Classic at Rushworth Speedway this Saturday night. Long time club supporter Oil Hydraulics has once again thrown their support behind the VGPMRA and the Ironbark Classic.

The Ironbark Classic is fast becoming a time honoured, “must win” event on the GP Midget calendar after its inception in 2009. Club legend Dennis Myers was the inaugural winner before going back to back to back & scoring a hat trick in 2010 & 2011, before Lisa Chalcraft dominated the field with a masterclass performance in 2012. Ashley Booker was victorious in 2013 & 2014 driving for Mark Sheills, while Myers wound back the clock to win again in 2015. Unfortunately the 2016 version was rained out before a wheel could be turned in anger.

So who will win this year?

Trevor Perry is in red hot form at the moment and will be looking to win not only his first Ironbark Classic but to also secure his first Masters Series Championship with the classic also doubling up as the 11th and final round in the Ballistic Performance Parts Masters Series. Perry currently sits 18 points in front of hometown hero Lisa Chalcraft from Mooroopna.

Lisa a previous winner of the event will be looking to finish in front of Perry in every heat and the final if she is to give herself any chance of bridging the points gap to win her second Masters Series after taking out the Championship in 2015. Other challenges will be coming strong and fast with Travis Florimell one of a handful of likely contenders. Florimell has been close on several occasions this season however just hasn't had much luck. Could this be his night to spoil the party?

Local contenders in Vic 1 Mark Cecil and multiple Aus Champion Dennis Myers will certainly be hard to beat on a track they know very well and speaking of former Aus Champions, Paul Perry has been a quiet achiever this season but is well and truly due for a win in his Perry Bros Chassis.

David Bacon also driving a Perry Bros Chassis has been on the improve however had some hard luck last weekend at Nyora Raceway after putting the car in the wall, however he'll have the car back together and ready to mix it with the rest of the field. Marty Job and Chris Fowler round out the list of nominations driving for the JF Racing team and will be looking to finish their up and down season on a high. Both cars have shown pace at points during the season but can they pull it together for a Stephen Bradbury like performance. Realistically there are at least half a dozen drivers capable of taking home the prize this Saturday night. It will be an interesting race to see the tactics of each driver as those out of the championship hunt will have their eyes solely on the prestigious Oil Hydraulics Ironbark Classic while Perry and Chalcraft will be looking for maximum points in the Masters Series finale.

So back to the original question of who will win??? Why don't you come and find out with all the action starting at 4pm this Saturday night at Rushworth Speedway and your last chance to see the GP Midgets in action this season.

Recent Posts
bottom of page