top of page


The Victorian Grand Prix Midgets Association headed to Redline Raceway for their final shake down before the Australian title albeit on a completely different sized race track, in the absence of top gun Trevor Perry and Australian Champion Paul Perry, it was Jason Crawford who claimed victory ahead of Travis Florimell and Chris Fowler.

A miserable afternoons weather unleashed a downpour two hours prior to the race meeting’s scheduled start and a number of showers during the evening frustrated crews trying to chase a race track with their set ups, however all three heat races and the final were completed in the latest ‘Ballistics Performance Parts’ Masters Series in a credit to the Redline track crew who were quick to rebound with track work each time it rained.

Florimell (# 81 TM Lineboring – Yamaha) began from pole position in the first heat of the night with Fowler alongside and Marty Job, Lisa Chalcraft, Sean Denning Crawford and Mark Blackeby the line up.

Blackeby (# 10 Kyabram Steel & Fabrication – Yamaha) didn’t get past the flagman to complete a lap and his race meeting was over and done with as a clutch let go whilst Florimell led lap one from Fowler, Chalcraft and Crawford. On lap four Fowler drifted to the infield as a lead came off the fuel pump strangling his run and Chalcraft (# 15 Jacobson Transport – Suzuki) and Crawford moved up the order.

At the drop of the chequered flag, Florimell took the win from Chalcraft whose car exploded into a ball of fire with flames entering the driver’s cockpit and Crawford close behind riding her rear right wheel as they both crossed the finish line. Job (# 31 147 Snooker Supplies – Suzuki) and Denning rounded out the placings and the fire to Chalcraft was contributed to an oil leak onto the exhaust and engine and flames jumping as a result of that. Chalcraft and her car would go onto compete further through the night despite the shock.

Chalcraft began heat two from the front with Denning (# 52 A & R Suburban Fencing – Suzuki), Crawford, Florimell, Fowler and Job all behind. Florimell having already secured the first heat win jumped to the lead on lap one and had Chalcraft and Denning next in the queue. Crawford passed Denning on lap two and Florimell again went on to a great win from Chalcraft, Crawford, Fowler, Denning and Job.

Crawford was next to start from pole in the final heat race with Job alongside. Denning, Fowler (#13 Castrol – Suzuki), Chalcraft and Florimell completed the line up. Crawford led Job and Florimell on lap one before Florimell, Chalcraft and Fowler moved past on lap two. Lap seven came and Florimell made his move into the lead to secure a third win from three starts as he led to the finish Crawford, Chalcraft, Fowler, Job and Denning.

With top qualifiers to the back in the final, Fowler began from the front of the field with Denning, Job, Crawford (# 50 Pitstop Motors – Yamaha), Chalcraft and Florimell the starting grid for the ten lap final. Fowler led lap one from Crawford, Florimell, Denning and Chalcraft before Crawford and Florimell got passed on the next lap. From there Crawford maintained a lead over Florimell right to the finish with Fowler in third then Chalcraft, Denning and Job.

Drivers then head to Wahgunyah on April the 22nd for the Australian title to compete against drivers from New South Wales.

The Victorian Grand Prix Midgets association thank Club Supporters:

Ballistic Performance Parts

Oil Hydraulics

Jacobson Transport

Automotive Super Balance Shepparton

Pitstop Mowers

Rock Solid Productions

Written by Dean Thompson DMT Sports Media For Victorian Grand Prix Midgets Association

Recent Posts
bottom of page