top of page

16 GP's Nominated For Victorian Title

This coming weekends Victorian Title/Rod Quarrell Memorial is suring up to be one of the classics with Australian Champions, Victorian Champions, Masters Series Champions, Jason Glynn Memorial Winners, Wangaratta Cup Winners and Feature Winners all in the mix not to mention a few that are on the cusp of breaking through for their first big GP Midget win.

16 Cars have nominated for this year's Victorian Title/Rod Quarrell Memorial to be held at Rushworth Speedway this Saturday Night 14th January. These sorts of car numbers and quality of the field have not been seen for some time in the GP Midget ranks. Some of the top contenders would no doubt have to be the reigning Victorian Champion and Masters Series Champion Jason Crawford who puts in a strong showing every time he hits the track.

The brothers from Sunshine will certainly have be at the front at some stage of the night with the current Australia 1 & 2 of Paul Perry and Trevor Perry ready to add a state title to their trophy cabinet. Although these three are at the top of their game they will have beat some of the local contingent that will no doubt be out to add another win to their already impressive CV. Dennis Myers and Mark Cecil have no less than 8 Victorian Titles between them and if we then add Lisa Chalcraft who is a 2 time Jason Glynn Memorial winner and a Masters Series Champion to this list the locals start to look quite hard to beat. We could also throw Louis Rodriguez into this mix as well who has been running at the pointy end of the Compact Speedcars this season and last month just missed out on a podium in the Compact Speedcar Victorian Title which was also held at Rushworth Speedway. So we can see that the locals are experienced and the former title holders will be up there but who outside of this could jump up and be a surprise packet on Saturday night?

Chris Fowler has won the previous 2 feature races this season and certainly has the pace to match the front runners as does Travis Florimell who has shown glimpses of pace throughout this season but just hasn't been able to find any consistency, however if he gets it right on the night don't be surprised to see him challenging for the lead.

The Victorian club has also received support from NSW with 2 entries in the likes of former Australia #3 Janelle Saville who is no slouch behind the wheel and NSW #24 of Kieran Macklyn, neither are making the long trip just to make up the numbers.

Entries have also been received from Scott Laird who went close to a win the other week at Redline Raceway, Greg Campbell another Rushworth local, Sean Denning, Marty Job and David Bacon. It will be interesting to see all the little battles throughout the night, with every driver fighting for every position with the highest point scorers starting from the front, every point is important. The weather is forecast to be in the high 20's but the racing will much hotter.

Some questions for you to ponder on: Will a previous winner prevail or will we crown a new champion? Will the locals come out on top or will the visitors take home the silverware? Will we see old tensions rise or will new rivalries be born? Can NSW snatch a Victorian Title something that has only ever been done once by Grant Walker in 1985? Can Crawford go back to back? Can Dennis Myers equal Noel Freeman and Lester Appleton's record of 7 Victorian Title wins?

The answer to these questions I don't have but one thing is for sure if you're not at Rushworth Speedway this Saturday night then you won't able to say I was at the most competitive and hotly contested GP Midget Victorian Title that's been run in the last decade. All the action starts from 4pm make sure you're there!

Recent Posts
bottom of page