top of page


The Victorian Grand Prix Midget Racing Association heads from one end of the state to the other this week after racing at Wahgunyah Speedway up on the Murray last Saturday, they now travel to Avalon Raceway for the annual Jason Glynn Memorial this Saturday night. This year see’s the event a stand-alone feature race rather than another round of the Master’s Series as has been the case in previous years. The event is in honour of former up and coming GP Midget racer in the early 90’s, Jason Glynn, who was tragically killed in a road accident on the Great Ocean Road. Since then the VGPMRA has dedicated this blue-ribbon event in his honour and still today some 27 years on it is one that all the drivers still regard highly. There aren’t many races that Danny Stainer hasn’t won in his speedway career and he will be looking to add the Jason Glynn Memorial to his list of achievements. He will go in as red-hot favourite on Saturday night after taking out round 5 of the Masters series last Saturday night. The Victorian champion was in good form on a rutted-up track but he was challenged right to the chequered flag throughout the night, so he won’t have it all his own way. The main challenges are likely to come from team mate Jason Crawford in the V50 Pitstop Mowers entry and Travis Florimell in the V81, with the car showing a lot of speed but just not the reliability. Florimell had speedcar driver Ashley Booker in the pilot seat last week and he led more than half of the feature race before breaking the chain. If Travis can get the reliability in the car he will be a big threat to Stainer. Another challenge is likely to come from Shepparton’s Dennis Myers in the newly turned out V11 machine. Myers has changed to a Perry Bros Chassis this season and has shown some good speed in the couple of meetings he has raced this season. Myers is no stranger to Avalon Raceway or the Jason Glynn memorial being a 3-time winner of the event in 2006, 2008 & 2009. Could the new package see him back in victory lane for a fourth win?

Other nominations have come from Lisa Chalcraft a two-time winner of the event in 2010 & 2012, David Bacon in what is his best season in the class, Shawn Ward, Sean Denning, Chris Fowler and Mark Blackeby. Notably missing from the nominations is two-time and defending winner of the Jason Glynn Memorial Trevor Perry after he sustained damage to his chassis in a roll over at Wahgunyah last Saturday night. Trevor will be working hard to repair the car however it is still unclear whether he may be a late addition to the program on Saturday night.

All the action kicks off at 6pm and the racing will be fierce with drivers looking to impress at the club’s only run at Avalon this season. Who will be the 2018 Jason Glynn Memorial winner?

Recent Posts
bottom of page