top of page


The annual awards night for the Victorian Grand Prix Midgets Club closed out the season with a number of awards and certificates of appreciation distributed amongst a night of fun that included comedic use of the a large screen & the stand up talents of the Vice President Mark Shiells.

Hosted by club President John Fowler, the club quickly jumped into some fun to open the night with some rib tickling of most of the members.

Into the awards, Sean Denning who in the second half of the season caught a break when Garry Jacobson took up offers in Queensland running Sprintcars and in the Dunlop V8 Supercar series & left a seat open in Mark Shiells team with Denning jumping in to the seat, finished the season with Best New Driver award.

Marty Job who had a history as a Demolition Derby driver landed a role as the second driver for John Fowler and he picked up the most improved competitor from the start of the year to the end.

Last year’s overall Masters Series champion Lisa Chalcraft went home with the Best Presented car, her father Ken was awarded this seasons Presidents award whilst the Jim Phillips Encouragement Award was taken out by David Bacon.

Acknowledgment was given to the Jason Glynn Memorial winner Trevor Perry, the Australian title winner Paul Perry & Rod Quarrell Memorial/Victorian title winner Jason Crawford.

Wangaratta City Speedway was also acknowledged for their support towards the Grand Prix Midgets club through a partnership that gets the competitors on track four times a year at the venue & club member Glenn Cunningham was awarded the Rod Quarrell Clubman award for all his dedication through the season as a liaison at tracks and infield clerk of course and other support he offered.

Appreciation certificates were handed out to a number of people including Dean Thompson from DMT Sports Media, Sara Flowerday of SF Photo graphix & corporate supporters Oil Hydraulics, Ballistic Performance Parts, Shell Club, Jacobson’s Transport & Superbalance Automotive.

To wrap the season up the Ballistic Performance Parts Masters Series top six was awarded their hardware in the way of framed photos for all and trophies for the top six.

The results were: -6th Sean Denning -5th Paul Perry -4th Trevor Perry -3rd Chris Fowler 2nd Lisa Chalcraft 1st Jason Crawford

Earlier, the annual general meeting was held and John Fowler was retained as President with Mark Shiells staying on as Vice President, Leanne Chalcraft as secretary and Chris Fowler as treasurer, Ken Chalcraft as lead scrutineer and Trevor Perry was elected onto the technical committee.

Excitement amongst the competitors is bubbling with a number of new cars due out next season with new and returning drivers.

Danny Stainer will be back on track with a Stainer built race car for the ‘Pitstop Mowers’ team. Perry Bros Chassis have new cars for themselves & customers David & Hayden Bacon whilst the old cars will be up for sale.

Ray Duncan is picking up a chassis from the Perry Bros team also & Nathan Caddy will return to the race track in the 10 car. It is not out of the question for the division to have a dozen to sixteen Victorians in cars after Christmas when the Australian title will be contested at Wahgunyah Speedway on the Murray River.

Next year’s racing includes Nyora Raceway coming onboard as a new venue and the drivers are excited about getting to the famous little bull ring. In the meantime, drivers are already busy putting their weaponry together for next season’s competition.

Victorian Grand Prix Midgets thank the following season supporters:

Ballistic Performance Parts

Oil Hydraulics

Jacobson’s Transport

Marine Innovations

Dmac Property Services

Pitstop Mowers

Super Balance Automotive

SF Photo Graphix

Written by Dean Thompson DMT Sports Media For Victorian Grand Prix Midgets Club.

Recent Posts
bottom of page