top of page


Wangaratta Speedway will come alive as it hosts the 42nd running of the Australian Grand Prix Midget Title this Saturday night 30th March and it’s anyone’s guess as to who will come out on top. A strong and closely matched field of 17 cars will go wheel to wheel in what will be one of the largest races the class has seen in recent years. The recent rebuild of the NSW GP Midgets has added to the car count and they won’t be coming down just for a social get together with 7 competitors making the trip. All eyes will be on the current Australian Champion Trevor Perry as he tries to make it 3 Australian Titles in a row a feat that has only been done twice before although, in recent meetings things haven’t gone all his way with Rod Saville NSW #59 the form competitor coming into the meeting with a Victorian and NSW Title to his name this season. The New South Welshmen won’t have it all their way as the Victorian’s are up for the fight to win on home soil. Jason Crawford and 2 times Australian Champion Dennis Myers headline the Victorian’s chances although the winner could realistically come from another 5 or 6 competitors. Janelle Saville NSW #2 and Lisa Chalcraft VIC #15 will both be looking to make history and be the first female to win a Grand Prix Midget Australian Title and both have the cars to do this. Shawn Ward Vic #44 and Chris Fowler Vic #13 are also red hot chances on the night both, having had some strong performances at times this season although, if Gary Bowyer NSW #5 and Steve Bennett NSW #79 have anything to say about it they’ll be the ones on the top step of the podium. The talent just keeps coming as you look down the nomination list with Mark Blackeby VIC #10, David Bacon VIC #36, Troy Buis VIC #5 who could all pop up on the podium. Paul Perry will have to do it the hard way in the NSW #33 starting from the rear of the heats due to not having completed enough meetings since the last Australian Title but the 2016 Australian Champion will be up for the challenge. Sean Denning will fly the flag for the independent style midgets in the VIC #52 and Anthony Lea jumps into the seat of the NSW #7 that his son Jackson Lea has been driving this season. Andrew Ward completes the field in the VIC #88 and what a field it will is, not only are the number of nominations the highest seen in years but the quality is the strongest to take to the track at once in a long time. There will not only be a strong battle at the front but right throughout the field we’ll see competitors fighting for positions. Make sure you come and see all the action at Wangaratta this Saturday night, bring the kids and get a free poster. We will also be giving away a limited-edition framed poster signed by all 17 drivers to one lucky winner. The racing will be aggressive, ferocious as we watch the cream rise to the top to be crowned the 2019 Australian Champion. Racing starts at 4pm.

Recent Posts
bottom of page